Histoire - CCE

FROM THE COURS LA REINE TO THE CHAMPS ELYSEES

The site now occupied by the Champs-Élysées was originally nothing more than an expanse of marshy and uninhabited land. Then Marie de Médicis decided to have a long alley created, extending from the Palais des Tuileries along the Seine, lined with elm and linden trees: the Cours la Reine, modeled on the promenade of Florence’s Cascine Park, was opened in 1615.

Around 1670, André Le Nôtre, landscape architect to Louis XIV, was given the task of further developing the area. He designed a splendid avenue, running in a line from the central pavilion of the Palais des Tuileries, from what is now Place de la Concorde to the present Rond-Point des Champs-Élysées-Marcel-Dassault roundabout, in the direction of what was then known as the montagne du Roule — the eminence on which the Place de l’Etoile now stands – lined by plots of land planted with alleys of elms and green lawns.

To distinguish it from the Cours la Reine, the new alley was initially known as the Grand-Cours, and later the Grande Allée du Roule, the Avenue de la Grille Royale (1678), the Avenue du Palais des Tuileries (1680). The first coinage of the name it now bears, "Champs-Élysées", appeared in 1694, but the name was not formally adopted until 1709, as mentioned in the royal accounts.

The name was borrowed from classical mythology, the Elysian Fields being the ancient Greeks’ equivalent of paradise, probably to point the contrast with the avenue’s marshy origins.

Histoire - CCE

19TH CENTURY DEVELOPMENTS

On 2 April 1810, Marie-Louise of Austria, the new Empress of the French, made her entrance into the capital via the avenue, decorated for the occasion with a fake triumphal arch.

Later, Tsar Alexander I of Russia, King Frederick William III of Prussia, and Prince Schwarzenberg took their places in a stand erected close to the Elysée Palace to watch the parade of allied troops. The soldiers were bivouacked in the gardens, and supposedly left them in a deplorable state.

Louis XVIII had the gardens restored and opened the Avenue Gabriel. To ensure that the development continued, the Prefect of the Seine oversaw the transfer of the entire gardens to the City of Paris, under a law passed in August 1828: “Hereby granted, by transfer of title, to the City of Paris are the Place Louis XVI and the promenade known as the Champs-Elysées, as designated on the plan appended to this act, including those constructions falling under the ownership of the State and with the exception of the two ditches on the Place Louis XVI bordering the Tuileries Garden. Said grant is made subject to the City of Paris:

  1. bearing the costs of the supervision and maintenance of the areas designated above;
  2. carrying out, within five years, embellishment work to the sum of at least two million two hundred and thirty thousand francs;
  3. retaining the current purpose of the land so granted, which land may not be disposed of either wholly or in part”.

Histoire - CCE

THE PRESENT DAY

The Champs-Élysées today is an iconic main artery of the city and a tourist attraction not to be missed, with its shops, cinemas and theatres, cafés and restaurants, famous monuments such as the Grand Palais or the Arc de Triomphe, and its gardens. The avenue is also close to the hearts of the French people as the scene of huge gatherings marking key historic and sporting events.

Every year, on July 14, France’s military forces parade the length of the avenue to mark the national holiday, Bastille Day. The Champs-Elysées marks the finishing line for the final stage of the Tour de France, and the start of the Paris Marathon.

Celebrating the festive season, since 1980 the avenue’s retailers have treated the world to over 2 kilometers of spectacular Christmas illuminations, organized by the Comité Champs-Elysées.

Since 2007, the illuminations have been accompanied by an impressive Christmas Market, running between the Rond-Point and Place de la Concorde.

Every New Year’s Eve, the Champs-Elysées attracts close on a million revelers eager to usher in the future and share hopes and wishes for a happy New Year.

A wide array of leisure opportunities attracts crowds from every nation. Deft in keeping pace with the times, the Champs-Elysées is now the jewel in Paris’ crown and a splendid, example of perfectly managed modernization.

The mission of the Comité Champs-Elysées is to protect and preserve the influence and appeal of this unique site that, more than any other, mirrors the movement of life and time.

Histoire - CCE

DU COURS DE LA REINE AUX CHAMPS-ELYSEES

Les Champs-Élysées ne sont à l'origine, que des terrains marécageux et inhabités. Marie de Médicis décide d'y faire aménager au-delà du palais des Tuileries, le long de la Seine, une longue allée bordée d'ormes et de tilleuls : le cours la Reine, s'inspirant de la promenade florentine des Cascine, est ouvert en 1615.

Vers 1670, André Le Nôtre, jardinier de Louis XIV, est chargé de poursuivre l'aménagement de ces terrains. Celui-ci trace dans l'axe du pavillon central du Palais des Tuileries, depuis l'actuelle place de la Concorde jusqu'à l'actuel rond-point des Champs-Élysées-Marcel-Dassault, en direction de la montagne du Roule — qui se situait à l'emplacement de l'actuelle place de l'Étoile — une belle avenue bordée de terrains où sont aménagés des allées d'ormes et des tapis de gazon.

On l'appelle le Grand-Cours pour la distinguer du cours la Reine, ou encore la Grande allée du Roule, l’avenue de la Grille Royale (1678), l’avenue du Palais des Tuileries (1680). Le nom actuel des "Champs-Élysées" apparaît en 1694 mais n'est définitivement fixé qu'en 1709 comme en attestent les comptes royaux.

Ce nom est choisi d'après le terme mythologique "Champs-Elysées" (équivalent du paradis) probablement pour prendre le contrepied des origines marécageuses de l'avenue.

Histoire - CCE

LES AMENAGEMENTS DU XIXe SIECLE

Le 2 avril 1810, c’est par l’avenue, parée pour l’occasion d’un arc de triomphe factice, que la nouvelle impératrice des Français, Marie-Louise d’Autriche, fait son entrée dans la capitale.

Plus tard, le tsar de Russie Alexandre Ier, le roi de Prusse Frédéric-Guillaume III et le prince de Schwarzenberg prennent place dans une tribune dressée à proximité du Palais de l’Élysée pour assister au défilé des troupes alliées. Celles-ci bivouaquent dans les jardins qu’elles laissent dans un état déplorable.

Louis XVIII les fait réhabiliter et ouvre l’avenue Gabriel. Pour continuer l’aménagement, le préfet de la Seine fait affecter par une loi d’Août 1828 l’ensemble des jardins à la Ville de Paris : “Sont concédés à la ville de Paris, à titre de propriété, la place Louis XVI et la promenade dite des Champs-Elysées, telles qu’elles sont désignées au plan annexé à la présente loi, y compris les constructions dont la propriété appartient à l’Etat et à l’exception des deux fossés de la place Louis XVI qui bordent le jardin des Tuileries. Ladite concession est faite à la charge de la ville de Paris :

  1. de pourvoir aux frais de surveillance et d’entretien des lieux ci-dessus désignés ;
  2. d’y faire, dans un délai de cinq ans, des travaux d’embellissement jusques à concurrence d’une somme de deux millions deux cent trente mille francs au moins ;
  3. de conserver leur destination actuelle aux terrains concédés, lesquels ne pourront être aliénés en tout ou en partie ».

Histoire - CCE

Aujourd'hui

Les Champs-Élysées sont, de nos jours, une artère emblématique et un site touristique incontournable, avec ses boutiques, ses cinémas et ses théâtres, ses cafés et ses restaurants, ses monuments célèbres comme le Grand Palais ou l’Arc de Triomphe, ses jardins. L’avenue est aussi un lieu cher au cœur des français pour avoir accueilli les grands rassemblements populaires, à l’occasion d’événements historiques ou sportifs.

Chaque 14 juillet se déroule le défilé militaire de la fête nationale française. Les Champs-Elysées sont aussi le lieu d’arrivée de la dernière étape du Tour de France cycliste et le lieu de départ du Marathon de Paris.

Pour les fêtes de fin d’année, depuis 1980, les enseignes commerciales offrent au monde des Illuminations de Noël féeriques, sur plus de 2 kilomètres de long, organisées par le Comité Champs-Elysées.

Depuis 2007 ces Illuminations sont complétées par un imposant Marché de Noël, installé entre le Rond-Point et la place de la Concorde.

Chaque 31 décembre, tel un tremplin vers le futur, pendant la nuit de la Saint-Sylvestre les Champs-Elysées s’offrent à près d’un million de personnes qui viennent plonger dans l’espérance d’une nouvelle année heureuse.

Une large palette de loisirs attire les foules de toutes les nations. Parce qu’ils ont su s’adapter à leur époque, les Champs-Elysées sont aujourd’hui l’avenue phare et l’exemple d’une modernisation parfaitement maîtrisée.

La mission du Comité Champs-Elysées est de préserver le rayonnement de ce site unique qui reflète, plus que tout autre, le mouvement de la vie et du temps.